Vice Chancellors Summit

On the eve of the 6th International Interdisplinary Conference (IIC6), the University of Eldoret held the Vice-Chancellors' Summit which brought together Vice-Chancellors from the consortium members to deliberate on key issues pertaining to the strengthening of the consortium.

The Vice-Chancellor of Mt. Kenya University (Kenya) Prof. Stanley Waudo, Vice-Chancellor of Kyambogo University (Uganda) Prof. Eli Rwakishaya, representative of the Vice-Chancellor Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwo University (Nigeria) Sr. Prof. Mary Felisha Opawa and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Eldoret Prof. Teresa Akenga were present during the summit.

The Vice-Chancellor Summit deliberated on issues to do with the strengthening of the consortium, discussion on consortium constitution, the consortium framework, the establishment of consortium secretariat and staff and student exchange. Other issues involving the consortium journal AJEST and its publication were also discussed.

The meeting also inaugurated a new consortium chairperson. It was decided that Prof. Teresa Akenga takes over as the new consortium chair for the next one replacing the out-going chairman Prof Stanley Waudo of Mt Kenya University. The summit also agreed that the secretariat remains at UOE who would appoint an administrator to run the office.

Finally, the summit agreed that the next conference be held in 2020 either at Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwo University (Nigeria) or Kyambogo University (Uganda).

Also Present during the Vice-Chancellor Summit were; Deputy Vice-Chancellor Planning, Research and Extension Prof. Phillip Raburu, Director Research and Innovation Prof. Vincent Sudoi, Dean School of Education Prof. Kitainge Kisilu, Prof. Linet Gohole (Chair, Local Organizing Committee), Prof. Ahmed Ferej (Member Local Organizing Committee) and Dr. Phelister Njeru (Steering Committee-MKU).

Event Gallery

Click on photo to enlarge